Change font size   Print view

Mackie d8b and reliability?

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Mackie d8b and reliability?

Postby lyn69 » Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:29 am

I'm new to the Mackie D8B and forum and have had a look through some of the topics and I would just like to add a few things. I bought the D8B about a month ago and the hard drive started to play up. I got it cloned and I also got a computer tech guy to change the fans on the power supply and CPU and since then, not only is my Mackie power supply silent, but I have not had a single glitch and it boots up really quick too. The point I would like to make is that the Mackie and CPU are over 16 years old and the majority of problems will be software or CPU related. I strongly recommend that you clone your hard drive as this is going to be the majority of your problems. There is so much miss information on this, it's no wonder people on this forum end up going round in circles and getting frustrated. I also recommend you change the bios battery too. Running an old CPU and expecting it to perform like a modern computer is like using a high mileage car and expecting it to perform like a new one...It aint going to happen! I also got the activation codes from Mackie for the 5.1 software within 24 hours and unlike others on this site it worked first time for me, which makes me wonder can some of you enter a couple of numbers correctly?
My D8B works perfectly and is indispensable and I bought it for a steal :) I would recommend this desk at the prices you can get them for, but make sure you service the CPU. Also the guy who cloned my hard drive and fixed the fans did it all for 60 bucks happy days!
lyn69

Re: Mackie d8b and reliability?

Postby Old School » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:31 am

Hi,