Change font size   Print view

SP3 Memory Extraction Error

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

SP3 Memory Extraction Error

Postby leaddog » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:55 pm

Hi everyone,

*** Edit *** just save a ton of reading and go to the last page where we learn that SP3 is not needed on V5.1***

New to the forum here. I purchased my d8b from another member. I am an electrical design engineer in Tulsa, OK who designs consumer electronics, lays out PCBs and so on. I am pretty computer savvy having done this kind of work for over 30 years.

I hope I can be of service in the future.

I can tell you this has been an uphill battle from a few mistakes I have made. This platform is cranky and quirky to say the least.

But status is that this CPU was already working on a 4GB CF drive when I got it. But after reading the forum and understanding what dangerous waters I was in, I purchased another CF and startech adapter so I could clone it in case anything went wrong. It did.

No problem... Ralph - munkustrap (thanks) cracked the 5.1 OS issue and I was able to upgrade to 5.1, crack it and access a few of the plugins. This was done by creating the 3 floppies to install the 5.1 OS. That went fine. I realized that some of the plugins aren't there until you upload Service Pack 3. The whole rig appears to function as normal except that some of the plugins either aren't there or are older versions.

NOW the problem begins.

I downloaded the SP3 zip file and unzipped it. Next I transferred these 3 self extracting files to another computer that had a 3.5" Floppy. Then I clicked on them 1 at a time and extracted them to an A drive floppy.