Change font size   Print view

Ready to work out some bugs...

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Ready to work out some bugs...

Postby IronBone » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:02 am

So, I've been using my D8B for about 4 yrs now... and ever since I bought it there have been a few quirks that I have just "dealt" with. From day 1, the very first time I turned on, of course error 43... luckily I found a quick workaround by selecting F5 to load old values, then save and exit. Then the board seems to boot up normally and function pretty well. Which brings up question #1- is this a battery issue?
Next, also since the beginning, I have never been able to completely utilize the midi functions. The transport buttons don't work and the only thing I can achieve is to get the time to sync and roll with the DAW... I just recently read on another post that this too could be a battery issue... possible?
On top of all this, and with the occasional ribbon cable issue, I am still running 3.0... I have downloaded the crack to 5.1, but have been slightly apprehensive about doing the upgrade until I have a couple of the other bugs worked out, since it is at least functioning right now.
I have moved this board a few times to and from temporary studio settings and now I have finally finished building a studio at my home, so now the board has a final resting place. I REALLY like the D8B and am fairly partial to the setup that I am currently running, if I could only work through some of these issues, I would be very content.

Thanks in advance to any advice you guys may be able to provide.
On a side note, this forum is 95% the reason I have kept my D8B!
IronBone

Re: Ready to work out some bugs...

Postby Crash » Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:54 pm

Take these issues on in chuncks. First get the mother board battery replaced. Then load the correct BIOS settings for your processor. There are no "default" settings that go with the d8b. This page has what you are looking for.