Change font size   Print view

clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby pino68 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:33 pm

Thanks arjepsen . It's a good idea, only you should have the kindness to explain how to do it.
I buy the flash card and then how do I copy the image and operating system on the card?
pino68
Registered user
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby arjepsen » Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:04 pm

Ok, just to make sure, I'll try to give some background info:

The idea here is to use a compact flash card instead of the harddrive.
There are several reasons for doing this:
1: CF cards are still manufactured, so they're readily available.
2: CF cards have no moving parts, so it's quieter than the old HD
3: CF cards are faster, so the OS starts up a bit faster. (I think...)
4: If you get something like the one I have (https://media.dustin.eu/image/98586/400 ... reader.jpg) You can put the adapter on the back of the CPU unit, so you don't have to open up the CPU unit to get to the card.

You don't have to have a lot of space on the card - 1Gb would be enough. I read a post where someone had tried various cards, and not all worked for him. He speculated that the size mattered. I normally use a Verbatim 4Gb card, but I also tried a 128Gb Sandisk Extreme and that one worked fine too, although with that one it's a waste of space... :-)

If you get the adapter, and a card, then you can follow the step by step guide I wrote here:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1912&start=10#p14362

Let me know how it goes.
arjepsen
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby phantomrage » Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:48 am

At this point, someone needs to just make installation disks and replace the control file (or whatever file name it is) with the hacked version and mail them to him..

How I did my d8b. Then just enter correct codes/nunbers. Done.
phantomrage
Registered user
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:01 am

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby pino68 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:00 pm

I ordered everything on ebay, as soon as I get everything I try and then let you know. Now I go on vacation for ten days. Thank you. See you soon
pino68
Registered user
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby arjepsen » Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:57 pm

Ok. Have a nice vacation! :-)
arjepsen
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: clone (if possible) the operating system of a D8B

Postby badgeronkeys » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:12 pm

Hi, I bought a 2nd d8b fully working with cpu installed with v3.1 (I think). I took a full image of the old cpu which has 5.1 installed and successfully installed it onto the “new cpu” HD. Check one of my previous posts for more details. I’m happy to Dropbox you the disc image - let me know.

Cheers,
Martin
User avatar
badgeronkeys
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 1:46 am

Previous

Return to d8b Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron