Change font size   Print view

I'm QUITE excited (but we have seen this before...)

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

I'm QUITE excited (but we have seen this before...)

Postby arjepsen » Sun Feb 26, 2023 10:00 pm

I have managed to get myself a bit excited.....
Before I started a new education as an electronics engineer, I was messing around with trying to put the psu's inside the console.
I'm not finished with that project, and I don't think it's a hack for the faint of heart....

Anyways, since I always like to procrastinate, but diving into some of my other thousand projects, I got into seeing if I could sniff out the communication between the console and CPU unit.
My thought has been, that if I got that communication sorted, maybe it would be possible to make a new interface, using something a bit more modern, like... say... a raspberry pi, or an ESP32.....

Anyways, I am not entirely certain, how far others have gotten with this, and I couldn't find a lot of info.
I know that the probox guy (Munkustrap, right?) got the communication working to the brain board, but there are two communications going on between the console and cpu-unit: one to the brain board, and one to the DSP board.

It is so very early in this development for me, and it's quite possible that this will end up exactly where all the other projects like this has ended.
But well - I'm excited - I'm allowed to be :D

So far I have managed to send the firmware to the Brain board, and are able to turn on and off various LEDS, and move some faders.
This is nothing new though, others have managed that.

However, it seems the brain board has no control over sound... it only controls the LED's, display and faders.
I guess that when you move a fader, mr. Bwian sends info to the cpu, which in turn update the ui on the monitor, and sends info to the DSP board about the fader position.