Change font size   Print view

Using D8B with Protools 9

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Using D8B with Protools 9

Postby deanf » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:59 pm

Hello All,
After much deliberation, I have finally decided to change my recording set up to include a Mackie D8B with protools 9 using Windows 7, I am new to both the Mackie board and the protools platform so please excuse my ignorance if I'm asking any silly questions. Im sure that the questions I have are likely due to basic set-up issues however, thought this forum may fast track me throught the inital set up phase and get me recording sooner rather than later.

Currently I have the Mackie D8B communicating with protools via the midi breakout and profire lightbridge aswell I have conntected optical cables to one of the AES cards in the Mackie.( I have three cards installed)

Here are a few minor issues which I've encountered and need to work around.

1) Im operating the D8B in HUI mode however,note that only 8 faders seem to be assigned. (17-24).. Thought protools 9 sorted this out and now accepted any perriphrial device as a controller?
a) Is this limitation occuring because I need to connect more optical cables to my other cards?
b) )Do I really need to operate the Mackie in HUI mode with protools?

2) The trasport controls appear to work so I know the board is communicating with protools however, I dont seem to have my audio paths assigned correctly and Im not receiving any signal into protools when I arm tracks. Nor do I get any audio out of the monitors

How is this done between the Mackie and protools.. What interface selection do I use on each track in protool?
deanf

Re: Using D8B with Protools 9

Postby Petersueco » Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:24 am

Welcome to the forum, deanf.

What cards do you have in the Tape slots?
Any Apogee clock card in the Sync slot?
What output are the monitors connected to?