Change font size   Print view

Transport Control of HDR from D8B

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Transport Control of HDR from D8B

Postby Bruce Graham » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:13 pm

Hello All;

I am new to the world of D8B and HDR systems and am having dificulties. I had an issue with the D8B (asking of a Password that wasn't inputed). I was able to resolve this by changing the battery, but still have a few outstanding issues that some of you may have experience with and can help.
1- The HRD will not record. Tracks are armed but it will not record. When connected to the D8B it can Arm the tracks and the D8B Transport buttons, including Record, light up. I can enter Locate points and the HDR goes to those points.
2- The HDR front panel REW- FF - Stop - Play - Record buttons do not light up. They all function as they should, except Record, but the LED's above all the buttons do not come on.
3- The Jog/Shuttle on the D8B does not function.

There may be others but this is as far as I have gotten.

I checked the MIDI Monitor in the D8B and MIDI code is displayed when transport commands are issued

Thanks in advance for any help!
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: Transport Control of HDR from D8B

Postby anyhorizon » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:27 pm

Since somebody will ask, do you have bi-directional MIDI hookup between HDR and d8b? ie., d8b out to HDR in and HDR out to d8b in. After replacing the battery, did you reset the BIOS settings? If not, you should.

Peter
In the scheme of things, there isn't one... just chaos.
anyhorizon
Premium Member
Premium Member

Location: Down under or up over, depending on where in space you are.

Postby Bruce Graham » Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:42 am

Hey Peter;

Yes to all of it. MIDI I/O, Yes when I re-set the BIOS I made sure the Parallel Port was disabled on D8B.
I have the old motherboard in the D8B and an old HDR. Front Panel doesn't match the manuals but a Brother P-Touch has helped with that.