Change font size   Print view

I need help with D8b and Protools 9

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

I need help with D8b and Protools 9

Postby Paco » Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:29 pm

Hi there, I'm new to the D8B. My main DAW is Protools 9. I have a digidesign 002, and a presonus digimax that i use to add 8 more inputs through adat. My D8B is apparently stock as far as cards.

I need help to know how i could use the D8B as either an interface into protools? Or use it as a controller? Or use ut as my front end? And how would i go about plugging it and such?

I purchased this thing not knowing exactly what it was, and I would hate to see all this money go to waste, so, i'm hoping to find some use for it, hopefully one that I can use it as an interface, even if I cannot use it as a controller

Thank you so much for any help
Paco

Re: I need help with D8b and Protools 9

Postby Crash » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:30 pm

What version os are you running? Do you have the Apogee clock card installed?
Crash
Premium Member
Premium Member

Postby Paco » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:23 pm

The guy who sold it to me I guess never updated the OS, so, I don't know, but I'll upgrade to V5.1 if it's necessary. The board is stock as far as cards, so, no, it doesn't have the apogee at the moment. If I buy the apogee, or another one that does the same, how can I hook it up?

I've been thinking of using the outs of the Mackie to send into the 002, adding a few more pres that way, but that won't be a whole lot. And I guess I can use the outs on my 002 to send back into the Mackie for some sort of analog mix down, what good will that do? I don't know.

I'd like to link it with the other interfaces as you're probably suggesting by your question
Paco

Postby Crash » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:27 pm

If you upgrade to v 5.1, there is a HUI layer of the console that may be useful.
Crash
Premium Member
Premium Member

Postby Paco » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:13 am