Change font size   Print view

Console Shutting Down Help!!!

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Console Shutting Down Help!!!

Postby hitfactoryromania » Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:52 pm

Hello Guys,

I am so glad I found your forum, since I am a total newbie with the Mackie d8b. ;)
A few weeks ago I purchased this great mixer on ebay and got it to work without any problems (first).
I started to connect it via the ADAT Cards with my RME Multiface I card - everything just worked perfect.

Now tonight - I was mixing on a track - :o suddenly the console shut down. Interestingly the monitor stayed open, but all the lights on the knobs and faders on the console turned black. Only the "RUDE SOLO LIGHT" stayed turned on.

Of course I tried to shut down the CPU Unit safely but the mouse and the keyboard were not responding at all.
So I powered it of with the button on the front side of the unit and turned it back on - the normal fader start procedure didnt take place at all, nor the display showed any message, it seemed like the console didnt get any power at all anymore.
After the CPU Unit completed the startup it showed the mixer and an error message "DSP Control Card Not Ready". :(

I read up on the internet what to do :geek: and came to the conclusion to simply unplug all the cables. After plugging them back - Party time :D the console started again totally normal - and I continued my work ...

After 5 Minutes it did the exact same thing :evil: the console suddenly shut down and the CPU Unit stayed open without responding to anything (keyboard or mouse). :roll: So I repeated the above mentioned steps several times and now I am standing in front of the same problem - I can work 5 minutes before the console is shutting down.

:?: :?: :?: :?:
What should I do - it looks like a hardware problem doesnt it?
Can it be possibly an overload protection?

Please give me some ideas how I can solve this issue. :idea:
Thanks
Best regards
Arnold
hitfactoryromania