Change font size   Print view

HDR caught in a startup loop

Discussion board for the HDR/MDR/SDR hard disk recorders users.

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:42 am

Hey Bruce, funk and phantomrage: Have any luck with the SATA II to IDE adapter for SSD? I'd sure like to replace my internal HD with SSD before it fails miserably !!
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby Bruce Graham » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:02 am

Hey jchandler;

I will have to take one of my removable drive bays caddies apart to see if I can find any info on the adaptor.

I looked at the ones I have not in a caddie and there was no usable or readable info on them.

Stay tuned.

Cheers
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:28 am

Thanks Bruce !
I'll be checking back to see what you've found.

All the best,
Jim Chandler
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby Bruce Graham » Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:47 pm

Hi Jim;

Below is all that is printed on my SATA adaptor.

"HXSP-0908, IDE TO SATA V1.2"

They came in Static free plastic bags withe following printed on the outside

"SKU269484-2Z70 EVK"
0116--0--14795 C-P-11-18"

I think as long as the adaptor (Converter) is SATA II or SATA I it shouldn't matter. These things do not cost much anyway, so I did some trial and error and never had a problem with what I bought. One gave me start up issues, but once started it was fine. All the others just worked!

Hope that helps.

Cheers
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:52 pm

Thanks Bruce ! I will look this item up and buy one. The one I use apparently has issues with certain SD cards. I'm thinking not enough buffer when writing to slower cards.
Jim
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby phantomrage » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:01 am

Jim, yes high quality cards are a must. I have friends who use the studio live and even those they said high quality cards are a must.
phantomrage
Registered user
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:01 am

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:29 pm

phantomrage: I do use high quality Sandisk 95Mb/s cards when recording live with good results as they can read/write nearly as fast as the old UDMA(?) 100/133 spec. I used to use the slower cards just for backup/archival work, but now can't trust them to not be corrupted when writing to them--like I mentioned, I think there isn't any (or at least not enough) buffer on the IDE/SD interface to allow writing to slow cards. My old slow cards are now relegated to MP3's which get played in the motorhome through a USB adapter. LOL!
Stay in touch!
Jim
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby phantomrage » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:44 pm

The adapters are pretty generic. I'm surprised they have any buffer at all. Good to know you are still having success with the adapter.
phantomrage
Registered user
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:01 am

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:52 am

Check this out: http://www.addonics.com/products/adidesd.php
I might use an SD/IDE adaptor in the extra PCI slot
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: HDR caught in a startup loop

Postby jchandler » Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:53 am

Then not worry about old internal HD !!
jchandler
Registered user
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:27 pm

Previous

Return to HDR/MDR/SDR recorders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron